• Top Members
    Reps
    Posts
  • 834 Replies
    2585 Replies
  • 716 Replies
    2026 Replies
  • 331 Replies
    1928 Replies

SCENE HELP!!!

User avatar
dj1437
VIP - Donator
Posts: 504

SCENE HELP!!!

Sun Mar 06, 2011 5:01 pm

I am working in flash to make my "The Red Man" game better and i was wondering how to make a startup menu like play and instructions, but i did that and in the actionscript for the play button i put this in:

Code: Select all

on(press){
nextscene();
}
i tested the movie and i clicked play, and nothing happened
This is a signature.

User avatar
kolega28
VIP - Donator
Posts: 338

Re: SCENE HELP!!!

Sun Mar 06, 2011 5:02 pm

im no good at flash sry
Image

User avatar
hungryhounduk
VIP - Site Partner
Posts: 2870

Re: SCENE HELP!!!

Sun Mar 06, 2011 5:12 pm

I am working in flash to make my "The Red Man" game better and i was wondering how to make a startup menu like play and instructions, but i did that and in the actionscript for the play button i put this in:
on(press){
nextscene();
}
Hey

It needsto be

Code: Select all

on (Press) {
	gotoAndStop("Scene 2", 1);
}


Dont forget to have a stop at the first frame in frame 1 of the second Scene else it will just flicker :)

hope this helps

Chris
Image

User avatar
dj1437
VIP - Donator
Posts: 504

Re: SCENE HELP!!!

Sun Mar 06, 2011 5:29 pm

hungryhounduk wrote:
I am working in flash to make my "The Red Man" game better and i was wondering how to make a startup menu like play and instructions, but i did that and in the actionscript for the play button i put this in:
on(press){
nextscene();
}
Hey

It needsto be

Code: Select all

on (Press) {
	gotoAndStop("Scene 2", 1);
}


Dont forget to have a stop at the first frame in frame 1 of the second Scene else it will just flicker :)

hope this helps

Chris


It still doesnt work, i am using actionscript 2.0
This is a signature.

User avatar
hungryhounduk
VIP - Site Partner
Posts: 2870

Re: SCENE HELP!!!

Sun Mar 06, 2011 5:33 pm

Hey
That code was from a new Flash file i did just to prove it worked then i pasted up the code :?

All i had on Scene 1 was a Button with that code linking to Scene2, and yes i an too using ActionScript 2.0 :)

so the error is your end not my end

FLASH SWF AND FILE BELOW

Chris
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Image

User avatar
Codex
Coding God
Posts: 2026

Re: SCENE HELP!!!

Sun Mar 06, 2011 5:45 pm

hungryhounduk wrote:Hey
That code was from a new Flash file i did just to prove it worked then i pasted up the code :?

All i had on Scene 1 was a Button with that code linking to Scene2, and yes i an too using ActionScript 2.0 :)

so the error is your end not my end

FLASH SWF AND FILE BELOW

Chris
How kind of you to make a example file :)
DJ, try to make another one and try the code, if it works then the problem is with the game file.
We shall let the revolution begin.. the revolution for freedom, freedom against censorship. We shall fight in the fields and in the streets, we shall fight in the hills; we shall never surrender

User avatar
Twiffler
Member
Posts: 46

Re: SCENE HELP!!!

Sat Mar 12, 2011 5:29 pm

This is a little different way but see if this works put this code into your button

Code: Select all

on (release) {
	_root.gotoAndStop("PlayGame");
}
Then go to The scene you want to play and click on the first frame in you action layer. Then go to the frame's properties panel(Ctrl+F3), look for for the textbox with the label "Frame" above it and put GamePlay into it. Lastly, got to action(F9) of that frame which is now labeled GamePlay and put this code into this the actions panel

Code: Select all

onLoad = function () {
	stop();
};
And if that does not work then something is wrong with your Flash game.

Post Reply

Return to “Help & Support”