How to make your browser the default

Use this board to post your code snippets - tips and tricks
21 posts Page 2 of 3
User avatar
Mark
VIP - Donator
VIP - Donator
Posts: 372
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 10:35 pm

can you explain abit better on what we need to do to make it the default browser please?. Can you make it in to a tutorial.
http://www.mbappz.com
User avatar
smashapps
Coding Guru
Coding Guru
Posts: 961
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 8:41 am

I was researching this the other day you have to do it in your registry which I do not know how to do.

You should of posted this in the Tutorial Requests section.
My name is Tom | Visit my blog where I post new content every day! Tom's Daily Blog | MineCraft is awesome!
User avatar
Napster1488
VIP - Donator
VIP - Donator
Posts: 524
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:41 pm

In Windows 7 it can be done without Registry.
YouTube Downloader v3.0
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
Mark
VIP - Donator
VIP - Donator
Posts: 372
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 10:35 pm

im using vista?.
http://www.mbappz.com
User avatar
smashapps
Coding Guru
Coding Guru
Posts: 961
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 8:41 am

in windows 7 you need your browser on the list of browsers otherwise you can manually change your default browser or you can change what programs open what extentions

to do it automatically with your own application you still need to do it with the Registry
My name is Tom | Visit my blog where I post new content every day! Tom's Daily Blog | MineCraft is awesome!
User avatar
Napster1488
VIP - Donator
VIP - Donator
Posts: 524
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:41 pm

In Windows7 u can do it in StartMenü-Default Programs
About Vista i dont know...somewhere in Registry it must be done.
YouTube Downloader v3.0
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
smashapps
Coding Guru
Coding Guru
Posts: 961
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 8:41 am

Yes but it doesnt let you select the programs only the ones on the list
My name is Tom | Visit my blog where I post new content every day! Tom's Daily Blog | MineCraft is awesome!
User avatar
Napster1488
VIP - Donator
VIP - Donator
Posts: 524
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:41 pm

smashapps wrote:
Yes but it doesnt let you select the programs only the ones on the list
U can also Select other Programs,like one u did with Visual Basic ;)
YouTube Downloader v3.0
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
smashapps
Coding Guru
Coding Guru
Posts: 961
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 8:41 am

Oh? It wouldnt allow me to do that but if so then then thats cool but the user of our applications may not know how to do that which is why Registry is still better :D
My name is Tom | Visit my blog where I post new content every day! Tom's Daily Blog | MineCraft is awesome!
User avatar
GaiaonlineHD
Member
Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 8:51 pm

MrAksel wrote:
Just showing you how to make your own webbrowser the default one
Code: Select all
Dim Key As Microsoft.Win32.RegistryKey = Microsoft.Win32.Registry.CurrentUser.CreateSubKey("Software\Clients\StartmenuInternet", True) 'Creates or opens the registry key for the default browser with write access
Key.SetValue("", "BROWSER PATH") 'The path of your program
Key.Close() 'closes and flushes the key
Replace "BROWSER PATH" with the program that should be the default browser
Or:
Code: Select all
Microsoft.Win32.Registry.SetValue("HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Clients\StartmenuInternet", "", "BROWSER PATH")
Doesnt make much sense how do i put this in my program?
21 posts Page 2 of 3
Return to “Quick Snips”