.Net application not working

Anything not covered in the other sections like Computer trouble - Hardware Issues - Upgrades and other technical stuff to be asked in here please.
8 posts Page 1 of 1
Contributors
User avatar
DeveloperJacob
VIP - Donator
VIP - Donator
Posts: 87
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 12:40 pm

.Net application not working
DeveloperJacob
I have a very annoying problem.
I have a. Net application and when I debug it than once I click the application (it doesnt matter where I click on the application .)
then only that application hangs. The other application like visual studio and firefox are running as usual.

Has anyone here had the same problem and how to solve this?
Image
User avatar
muttley1968
Hardcore Programmer
Hardcore Programmer
Posts: 622
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 11:54 pm

are you able to give us your code you might find it is in their
User avatar
Shim
VIP - Donator
VIP - Donator
Posts: 882
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 5:02 am

Re: .Net application not working
Shim
can you please explain it more ? do you get any error messages ?
Find my programs on Softpedia
User avatar
Scottie1972
Codenstuff Elite
Codenstuff Elite
Posts: 953
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 5:48 am

DeveloperJacob wrote:
I have a very annoying problem.
I have a. Net application and when I debug it than once I click the application (it doesnt matter where I click on the application .)
then only that application hangs. The other application like visual studio and firefox are running as usual.

Has anyone here had the same problem and how to solve this?
do you have code in the Form_Load event?
and if so, you should paste it here so we can understand better what is happening at run time.

if the application is hanging up when you are debugging it then you can a few problems from
something simple in the Form_Load event to a bad call in the Application.Config file that isnt being seen by the debugger.
there isnt much we can do if you dont give use error message or let use see the code where it is erroring from.
Image
User avatar
DeveloperJacob
VIP - Donator
VIP - Donator
Posts: 87
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 12:40 pm

I don't get an error message. It just hangs.

App.config
Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
<configuration>
    <configSections>
        <sectionGroup name="userSettings" type="System.Configuration.UserSettingsGroup, System, Version=4.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089" >
            <section name="Compatibility_Cleaner.My.MySettings" type="System.Configuration.ClientSettingsSection, System, Version=4.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089" allowExeDefinition="MachineToLocalUser" requirePermission="false" />
        </sectionGroup>
    </configSections>
    <system.diagnostics>
        <sources>
            <!-- This section defines the logging configuration for My.Application.Log -->
            <source name="DefaultSource" switchName="DefaultSwitch">
                <listeners>
                    <add name="FileLog"/>
                    <!-- Uncomment the below section to write to the Application Event Log -->
                    <!--<add name="EventLog"/>-->
                </listeners>
            </source>
        </sources>
        <switches>
            <add name="DefaultSwitch" value="Information" />
        </switches>
        <sharedListeners>
            <add name="FileLog"
                 type="Microsoft.VisualBasic.Logging.FileLogTraceListener, Microsoft.VisualBasic, Version=8.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b03f5f7f11d50a3a, processorArchitecture=MSIL"
                 initializeData="FileLogWriter"/>
            <!-- Uncomment the below section and replace APPLICATION_NAME with the name of your application to write to the Application Event Log -->
            <!--<add name="EventLog" type="System.Diagnostics.EventLogTraceListener" initializeData="APPLICATION_NAME"/> -->
        </sharedListeners>
    </system.diagnostics>
    <userSettings>
        <Compatibility_Cleaner.My.MySettings>
            <setting name="check" serializeAs="String">
                <value>True</value>
            </setting>
            <setting name="notifyme" serializeAs="String">
                <value>True</value>
            </setting>
            <setting name="startup" serializeAs="String">
                <value>False</value>
            </setting>
            <setting name="statusstrip" serializeAs="String">
                <value>True</value>
            </setting>
            <setting name="shownotify" serializeAs="String">
                <value>True</value>
            </setting>
        </Compatibility_Cleaner.My.MySettings>
    </userSettings>
</configuration>
Image
User avatar
Scottie1972
Codenstuff Elite
Codenstuff Elite
Posts: 953
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 5:48 am

some of your "Settings" name my be causing a conflict.
you should use some type of custom name for settings.
instead of "check" which is really really wrong, it should be something like ChkBoxBackgroundColor or cbBgColor or cbSOMETHING other then what the setting is for.

and the same with all the other names. throw a "appNAME" in there somewhere.

and what code is in the "Form1_Load" Event?
Image
User avatar
DeveloperJacob
VIP - Donator
VIP - Donator
Posts: 87
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 12:40 pm

This is my form_load event:
Code: Select all
    Private Sub frmMain_Load(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load

    End Sub
Image
User avatar
DeveloperJacob
VIP - Donator
VIP - Donator
Posts: 87
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 12:40 pm

I changed my settings and it seems to be working again! wahooo;
Thanks for your help!
Image
8 posts Page 1 of 1
Return to “General Help”