Page 2 of 2

Re: Automatic Word Highlighting

Posted: Sun Sep 05, 2010 9:41 am
by MrAksel
Yeah the typing goes extremely slow and fails much but I'm also developing a second that inherits the richtextbox control and just uses some API calls it's working pretty good with a few bugs.

My other method don't work properly as it is very slow so just don't try it but can explain:
It selects the word by the select function with start at the start index and length as the word length
Then it sets the color with the selectioncolor property
Then it deselects the text by using the select function again
.select(richtextbox1.textlenght - 1, 0)

Re: Automatic Word Highlighting

Posted: Sun Sep 05, 2010 10:10 am
by Codex
You can start your own topic if you want to talk about yours, not in mine....

Re: Automatic Word Highlighting

Posted: Sun Sep 05, 2010 10:32 am
by Casirus
i developed a DLL like this the one that scottie uses in his editor to color the code syntax :)

Re: Automatic Word Highlighting

Posted: Sun Sep 05, 2010 1:41 pm
by Axel
MrAksel wrote:
I guess he does this:
Code: Select all
Richtextbox1.select(start, length)
Richtextbox1.selectioncolor = color choise
Richtextbox1.select(index, 0)

I have used that in my syntax highlight component
excuse me , your ? im 200% sure you searched google for "syntax highlighting vb" and clicked the 2th thing xd