Page 1 of 2

Client socket

Posted: Thu Jun 06, 2013 7:22 pm
by AnoPem
Hello fellow coders im having an issue with socket, i can connect to my server without any problems on my local network but as soon as i try to go out thru my router it cant connect to my server i have port fowarded my router so that the client should be able to see the server but nothings happens, does anyone have any proposals i really need this in my project

Re: Client socket

Posted: Thu Jun 06, 2013 7:25 pm
by GoodGuy17
Wait a second. You have coded a server and a client, and what you're saying is, when you run the server AND the client on your local network, your client connects, but if you put the server out of your local network, your client no longer connects?

Re: Client socket

Posted: Thu Jun 06, 2013 7:29 pm
by AnoPem
GoodGuy17 wrote:
Wait a second. You have coded a server and a client, and what you're saying is, when you run the server AND the client on your local network, your client connects, but if you put the server out of your local network, your client no longer connects?
Ye except they are still on the same network i just change the ip of the client to connect to the outside of my router

Re: Client socket

Posted: Thu Jun 06, 2013 7:35 pm
by Shim
could you please provide us some codes that you had tweaked ? and by the way do you get any errors like this
A connection attempt failed because the connected party did not properly respond after a period of time, or established connection failed because connected host has failed to respond

Re: Client socket

Posted: Thu Jun 06, 2013 7:38 pm
by AnoPem
mshimranpro wrote:
could you please provide us some codes that you had tweaked ? and by the way do you get any errors like this
A connection attempt failed because the connected party did not properly respond after a period of time, or established connection failed because connected host has failed to respond
I get nothing at all

Re: Client socket

Posted: Thu Jun 06, 2013 7:39 pm
by GoodGuy17
I'm not sure I understand the reasoning behind that. You are hosting your server inside of your local network, then running your client, and trying to connect to said server using your external IP? Why not just use 127.0.0.1?

If you send me the client application, I can try and see if it will let me connect to your server, if that's what you're trying to validate.

Re: Client socket

Posted: Thu Jun 06, 2013 7:42 pm
by AnoPem
I figured i got this error message when trying to conenct to the server
"The name that was requested is valid, but found no data of the type requested"

You dont need to test it for me i use my laptop and my phones network to test it, on a diffrent network

Re: Client socket

Posted: Thu Jun 06, 2013 9:31 pm
by benji_19994
Most phones don't allow port forwarding.

Re: Client socket

Posted: Thu Jun 06, 2013 11:18 pm
by mandai
If you can provide some kind of exception text that would be helpful in identifying the issue.
Some general advice would be to make sure the ports are open if you are using any kind of firewall software.

Re: Client socket

Posted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 6:16 am
by AnoPem
mandai wrote:
If you can provide some kind of exception text that would be helpful in identifying the issue.
Some general advice would be to make sure the ports are open if you are using any kind of firewall software.
I get this when it tries to connect
Code: Select all
The name that was requested is valid, but found no data of the type requested
Im not using any kind of firewall og antivirus and my routers port is open for the device