Downloading From Multiple Links With Progress Bar?

Do you need something made? then ask in here.
Forum rules
Please LOCK your topics once you have found the solution to your question so we know you no longer require help with your query.
18 posts Page 1 of 2
Contributors
NoWayIn
VIP - Donator
VIP - Donator
Posts: 444
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 11:16 pm

Does anyone know how to do the following... =\

Okay so I want to use 1 progress bar to show the progress.

Let's say I have a config file with the following..

<Link 1>http://directLink 1</Link 1>
<Link 2>http://directLink 2</Link 2>
<Link 3>http://directLink 3</Link 3>

Okay so it will start downloading from Direct Link 1, a progress bar will show the progress.
( with the file name if possible, and size? )

after it has complete the download for link 1 it will start the download for Link 2 and it will show the same thing for the progress and then it will download link 3

thats 1 way I was thinking of, my 2nd way of doing this seems easier but Im not sure if its possible...

Instead of downloading 1 link after another all I have to do is make a directory on my web server like
http://myWebsite.com/MyFiles
Then when I click download it will download ALL the files inside of that directory

If anyone could help I'd greatly appreciate it :]
User avatar
CodenStuff
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4392
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 1:47 am

Hello NoWayIn,

Ok I made a demo application for you of how this could be done. All you do is enter your FTP address, Username and Password then select a folder to save the files into and press "Download All" button. It will then get a list of every file within your FTP folder and put them into a Combobox. Then it cycles through them all and downloads them one at a time with a progress bar and a label to show which file is being downloaded.

Download:
multidownload.zip
Hope that helps cooll;
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Welcome to CodenStuff.com Learn Code, Love Code. Thank you for being a member of the community.
NoWayIn
VIP - Donator
VIP - Donator
Posts: 444
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 11:16 pm

Thanks for the demo!
is there a way to do this through HTTP?

Apparently my church's website hoster said that they allow FTP but it takes anywhere from 2-4 days to activate the account, but Its been 1 week and it hasnt been activated yet...

So now I have to use HTTP, so is there a way to do the exact same thing using HTTP?
NoWayIn
VIP - Donator
VIP - Donator
Posts: 444
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 11:16 pm

I put in my FTP details and the folder but after it said Files found It wont download.
User avatar
CodenStuff
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4392
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 1:47 am

Hello,

I think the only way you could use the code I gave you via HTTP would be if you had a text file with all the names of the files in it like:

Image1.jpg
Image2.jpg
Software.exe
PantsUp.zip

It would then be easy to change the code to load the text file instead of getting a list of files via FTP. If that makes sense? ;)
Welcome to CodenStuff.com Learn Code, Love Code. Thank you for being a member of the community.
NoWayIn
VIP - Donator
VIP - Donator
Posts: 444
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 11:16 pm

Huh? D:

I asked someone about this and they said "Parsing"?
They said you have to read the files inside that directory and then download it.
I have no idea what that means =\
User avatar
CodenStuff
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4392
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 1:47 am

Hello,

If you dont have access to FTP how did you upload your files onto the web host? :?
Welcome to CodenStuff.com Learn Code, Love Code. Thank you for being a member of the community.
NoWayIn
VIP - Donator
VIP - Donator
Posts: 444
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 11:16 pm

Made it using their website creator
User avatar
CodenStuff
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4392
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 1:47 am

Hello,

Can you upload files then?, If you can upload/use php scripts I have a solution for you.
Welcome to CodenStuff.com Learn Code, Love Code. Thank you for being a member of the community.
NoWayIn
VIP - Donator
VIP - Donator
Posts: 444
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2009 11:16 pm

Yes I can upload files.
I just want to be able to download every file listed in a directory so I dont have to manually put in the link for each 1
18 posts Page 1 of 2
Return to “Tutorial Requests”