how can i make the textbox update in realtime

If you need help with a project or need to know how to do something specific in VB.NET then please ask your questions in here.
Forum rules
Please LOCK your topics once you have found the solution to your question so we know you no longer require help with your query.
9 posts Page 1 of 1
Contributors
User avatar
muttley1968
Hardcore Programmer
Hardcore Programmer
Posts: 622
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 11:54 pm

hello im building a custom minecraft launcher (still need minecraft account)

im building it kinda like magic launcher my aim is :P

anyway I have it launching fine but I have a
cmd box at the side I want to update in real time
here is a pic
Image



This is the code for the button that launches the game and works fine when you close the game it will update
with all the info from when the game started
Code: Select all
   entregame.Tag = "java -Xms256m -Xmx256m -cp ""%APPDATA%\.minecraft\bin\minecraft.jar;%APPDATA%\.minecraft\bin\jinput.jar;%APPDATA%\.minecraft\bin\lwjgl.jar;%APPDATA%\.minecraft\bin\lwjgl_util.jar"" -Djava.library.path=""%APPDATA%\.minecraft\bin\natives"" net.minecraft.client.Minecraft"
        BackTrackTextBox2.Text = ""
        Dim start_info As New ProcessStartInfo("cmd")
        start_info.UseShellExecute = False
        start_info.CreateNoWindow = True
        start_info.RedirectStandardOutput = True
        start_info.RedirectStandardError = True
        start_info.RedirectStandardInput = True
        Dim proc As New Process()
        proc.StartInfo = start_info
        proc.Start()
        Dim std_out As StreamReader = proc.StandardOutput
        Dim SW As System.IO.StreamWriter = proc.StandardInput
        Dim std_err As StreamReader = proc.StandardError()
        SW.WriteLine(entregame.Tag)
        SW.WriteLine("exit")
        BackTrackTextBox1.Text = std_out.ReadToEnd()
        BackTrackTextBox2.Text = std_err.ReadToEnd()
        std_err.Dispose()
        SW.Close()
        std_out.Close()
        std_err.Close()
        proc.Close()
here is a link to a .bat file that does exactly what I want :P
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/446 ... esting.bat
User avatar
smashapps
Coding Guru
Coding Guru
Posts: 961
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 8:41 am

You would use a timer and in the timers tick event run the code
My name is Tom | Visit my blog where I post new content every day! Tom's Daily Blog | MineCraft is awesome!
User avatar
muttley1968
Hardcore Programmer
Hardcore Programmer
Posts: 622
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 11:54 pm

that would make the program boot everytime though and it wont update it
it just freezes until you close minecraft then it reopens and starts again
User avatar
Shim
VIP - Donator
VIP - Donator
Posts: 882
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 5:02 am

try Application.DoEvents() inside the loop
Find my programs on Softpedia
User avatar
muttley1968
Hardcore Programmer
Hardcore Programmer
Posts: 622
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 11:54 pm

not that didn't work either infact it didn't do anything bare make minecraft seem really laggy
User avatar
smashapps
Coding Guru
Coding Guru
Posts: 961
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 8:41 am

Send me your TV ID and Pass if you want me to have a look in a message
My name is Tom | Visit my blog where I post new content every day! Tom's Daily Blog | MineCraft is awesome!
User avatar
muttley1968
Hardcore Programmer
Hardcore Programmer
Posts: 622
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 11:54 pm

yes that would be great ill skype you later but i have to go do some work in the garden for my mum now :(
so catch u in a few hours if that is okay

Thank you for your help
User avatar
AnoPem
VIP - Donator
VIP - Donator
Posts: 441
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2010 10:55 pm

I Night have a snipptet that can do that but I will not be able to chech at the moment as I'm sitting in a traffic jam away from the airport
https://t.me/pump_upp
User avatar
muttley1968
Hardcore Programmer
Hardcore Programmer
Posts: 622
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 11:54 pm

great im back now anyway so if anyone wants to help my Skype is rman180 and I really could do with getting it done by tonight
9 posts Page 1 of 1
Return to “Coding Help & Support”