Vb2008 sytem information

Heres your chance to share your own tutorials with the community. Just post them on here. If your lucky they may even be posted on the main site.
7 posts Page 1 of 1
Contributors
User avatar
nannetien
Just Registered
Just Registered
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 1:39 pm

Vb2008 sytem information
nannetien
He Guys i gonna show you how to make a system information tool in Visual basic 2008

You Need:
6 textboxes
6 labels
and 2 button

textbox 1 is for the computer name so type that in the label
textbox 2 is for the current user so type that in the label
textbox 3 is for the operating system so type that in the label
Textbox 4 is for the platform so type that in the label
Textbox 5 is for the version so type that in the label
textbox 6 is for the language so type that in the label

button 1 is show
button 2 is exit

Button 1 show code:
Code: Select all
TextBox1.Text = System.Environment.MachineName
TextBox2.Text = System.Environment.Username
TextBox3.Text = My.Computer.Info.OSFullName
TextBox4.Text = My.Computer.Info.OSPlatform
TextBox5.Text = My.Computer.Info.OSVersion
TextBox6.Text = My.Computer.Info.InstalledUICulture.ToString
button 2 exit code
Code: Select all
Me.Close()
User avatar
Nery
Co-Admin Moderator
Co-Admin Moderator
Posts: 1117
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 8:11 pm

Re: Vb2008 sytem information
Nery
You mean, a bunch of labels that shows your system information. You've got to specify correctly what you're trying to show.

Why a button? can't you just load up the system information in the Form Load? :O
User avatar
nannetien
Just Registered
Just Registered
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: Vb2008 sytem information
nannetien
Nery wrote:
You mean, a bunch of labels that shows your system information. You've got to specify correctly what you're trying to show.

Why a button? can't you just load up the system information in the Form Load? :O

I don't know you can try
User avatar
Nery
Co-Admin Moderator
Co-Admin Moderator
Posts: 1117
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 8:11 pm

Re: Vb2008 sytem information
Nery
Your metod is correct, but for more simplicity you can just add that code to the Form Load propertie. Well a button could be also easier for beginners to understand.
User avatar
CodenStuff
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4392
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 1:47 am

Re: Vb2008 sytem information
CodenStuff
Hello nannetien,

This will come in very handy for grabbing system information. I think its more of a quick code snippet rather than a application though. Perhaps you could build these functions into an application that could change some of that information or something like that I think would be good.

Good job cooll;
Welcome to CodenStuff.com Learn Code, Love Code. Thank you for being a member of the community.
User avatar
nannetien
Just Registered
Just Registered
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: Vb2008 sytem information
nannetien
CodenStuff wrote:
Hello nannetien,

This will come in very handy for grabbing system information. I think its more of a quick code snippet rather than a application though. Perhaps you could build these functions into an application that could change some of that information or something like that I think would be good.

Good job cooll;

hello may i have the latest dock version from you?
User avatar
TechMan8
Just Registered
Just Registered
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 7:31 pm

Re: Vb2008 sytem information
TechMan8
Great job, thx :D

I put the code in the Form Load instead of a button, and it works well.
7 posts Page 1 of 1
Return to “Tutorials”